comalicious

Green – Mean – Cuisine

The Joy of Cycling

kahari bike downtown atlanta  A few years ago I received a life changing gift that reacquainted  me with man’s earlier ways of travel.  The experience has opened me up to an underground urban commuting network of many different people of diverse backgrounds.  From those who do it for fun to those who do it for work there is one common interest, arriving to ones desired destination safely. On my journey I discovered the joy of cycling.

The bicycle has been around since the early 1800s, with concepts dating back to the 1400s.  I was introduced to the bicycle in 1985. My first bike, equipped with training wheels, was enough to make it to the stop sign. When I received a bicycle as a gift a few years back,  I was thinking traffic filled streets & stop lights. Since then I have made cycling my preferred method of travel. Cars, buses, trains & planes are good, but don’t forget the bicycle.

I have met fellow cyclist  that have been the most earth conscious & encouraging group of people who fuel my joy of the commute.  Other cyclists stick out amongst the cars & usually a common courtesy of acknowledgement occurs. The experience of the ride, even in traffic jams does not irritate the cyclist, so engaging in communication with a fellow two-wheeler comes naturally & usually without irritation.  I remember seeing a cyclist stopped to eat from a fig tree at one time. Figs being one of my favorite fruits I had to taste one. A  fresh fruit  tree that has mostly gone unnoticed in the urban environment put a smile on my face. Local food sources seemed to flower, thrive & flourish in my path.  Another aspect of cycling that fueled my joy is the local food experience. Literally!

One of the main things that will keep anyone safe from stumbling is awareness. Being fully aware of the moment & all the occurrences within any given moment is a form of meditation.  For me, cycling is meditation in motion.  In urban environments you may find potholes or local food fresh on a tree or vine even. Powered by the intent to enjoy the commute, I usually avoid harm & arrive to my destination in the same feeling  of joy I acquired from the journey. Maybe you are inspired to join me in the joy of cycling.  I highly recommend reintroducing this form of travel to yourself & others.  You will be surprised at how “ecoficient” it is. Safe travels.

One response to “The Joy of Cycling

  1. Sandra January 18, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    Very nice! hope you get many hits and something good comes from your effort.

Leave a Reply

